Bar Pro Bono Awards 2019


Headline Sponsor: Lexis Nexis

Supported by: The Bar Council



Since 1997 the Bar Pro Bono Award has been given every year in recognition of outstanding commitment to pro bono work by a barrister or chambers. Since then pro bono has developed, broadened and grown, and it is increasingly difficult to choose one winner from a set of nominees clearly working in different areas. In 2018 we introduced nine separate categories:

  • Young Pro Bono Barrister of the Year, sponsored by Place Campbell
  • Junior Pro Bono Barrister of the Year, sponsored by Juriosity
  • Pro Bono QC of the Year, sponsored by Therium Access
  • International Pro Bono Barrister of the Year
  • Employed Pro Bono Barrister of the Year
  • Pro Bono Chambers Professional of the Year, sponsored by the Legal Practice Management Association
  • Pro Bono Innovation of the Year
  • Pro Bono Chambers of the Year
  • Lifetime Achievement in Pro Bono, the Sydney Elland Goldsmith Award

To nominate someone, you must:

  • fill in the nomination form below;
  • send in with at least two supporting letters.


Nominations received will be published in the awards brochure, distributed at the Bar Conference on Saturday 23rd November 2019, and on this website. 


The deadline for nominations is Friday 27th September 2019. Please click here for the nomination form.


Bar Pro Bono Awards winners and nominees events

All nominees are invited to an Awards evening taking place in Pro Bono Week (date to be confirmed) at which winners of most categories will be announced.

The winner of Pro Bono Young Barrister of the Year and the 2019 winner of Lifetime Achievement in Pro Bono will be presented with their awards at this year’s Bar Conference, which takes place on Saturday 23rd November 2019.