Bar Pro Bono Awards 2020

Supported by: The Bar Council

Since 1997 the Bar Pro Bono Awards have been given every year in recognition of outstanding commitment to pro bono work by barristers or chambers. Since then pro bono has developed, broadened and grown, and it is increasingly difficult to choose one winner from a set of nominees clearly working in different areas. We have eight separate categories:

  • Young Pro Bono Barrister of the Year
  • Junior Pro Bono Barrister of the Year
  • Pro Bono QC of the Year
  • International Pro Bono Barrister of the Year
  • Pro Bono Chambers Professional of the Year
  • Pro Bono Innovation of the Year
  • Pro Bono Chambers of the Year
  • Lifetime Achievement in Pro Bono, the Sydney Elland Goldsmith Award

To nominate someone, you must:

  • Fill in the nomination form below.
  • Send it with at least two supporting letters/emails.


Nominations received will be published in the awards brochure, distributed at the Bar Conference and on this website. 

Nominations for 2020 are now open. Please click here for the nomination form.

Bar Pro Bono Awards winners and nominees events

All nominees are invited to an Awards evening that takes place during Pro Bono Week at which winners in most categories will be announced. In 2020 the ceremony will take place online.

Winners of Young Pro Bono Barrister of the Year and Lifetime Achievement in Pro Bono will be presented with their awards at the Bar Conference, which usually takes place in November.