Bar Pro Bono Awards 

Kindly sponsored by LexisNexis Logo header
Supported by: The Bar Council 

Since 1997 the Bar Pro Bono Awards have been given every year in recognition of outstanding commitment to pro bono work by barristers or chambers. Since then, pro bono has developed, broadened and grown, and it is increasingly difficult to choose one winner from a set of nominees  working in different areas. As such, we now have eight separate categories:

  • Young Pro Bono Barrister of the Year (sponsored by Place Campbell)
  • Junior Pro Bono Barrister of the Year (sponsored by Westgate Wealth Management)
  • Pro Bono QC of the Year
  • International Pro Bono Barrister of the Year
  • Pro Bono Chambers' Professional of the Year (sponsored by the LPMA)
  • Pro Bono Chambers of the Year
  • Pro Bono Innovation of the Year
  • Lifetime Achievement in Pro Bono, the Sydney Elland Goldsmith Award
  • John Collins Pro Bono Excellence Award (in partnership with the North-Eastern Circuit)

To nominate someone, please fill in the nomination form and return it along with between two and four supporting letters to 

Nominations are now closed.

Click here for a full awards brochure featuring all the nominees. 

Bar Pro Bono Awards winners and nominees events

All nominees are invited to an Awards evening that takes place on 3rd November during Pro Bono Week at which winners in most categories will be announced. We are running an in-person event and will be live-streaming the awards ceremony. 

Winners of Young Pro Bono Barrister of the Year and Lifetime Achievement in Pro Bono will be presented with their awards at the Annual Bar and Young Bar Conference, which usually takes place in November.