2021 Bar Pro Bono Awards: Winners

Headline Sponsor: LexisNexis

This year, Advocate celebrated 25 years with an in-person Bar Pro Bono Awards, which was also livestreamed on YouTube. The prestigious awards were hosted by the Sir Robin Knowles, with speeches from Lord Goldsmith, Alex Chalk MP, Joanne Kane and James Harper. If you missed it and want to check out the ceremony, you can do so here

The winners of Young Pro Bono Barrister of the Year Award and the Lifetime Achievement in Pro Bono, the Sydney Elland Goldsmith Award, will be announced at the Annual Bar and Young Bar Conference on 20th November.

Read the full 2021 Bar Pro Bono Award Nominations brochure here 

Award winners:

Young Pro Bono Barrister of the Year

Winner: Daniel Grütters (One Pump Court Chambers)

Daniel Grutters

Junior Pro Bono Barrister of the Year

Winner: Sarah Abram (Brick Court)

Special mentions: Samina Iqbal (Goldsmith Chambers) and Grainne Mellon (Garden Court Chambers)

Sarah Abram

Pro Bono QC of the Year

Winner: Anthony Metzer QC (Goldsmith Chambers)

Anthony Metzer

International Pro Bono Barrister of the Year

Winners: Rhys Davies (Temple Garden Chambers) and Ben Keith (5 St Andrew's Hill) 

 Ben KeithRhys Davies

Pro Bono Chambers Professional of the Year

Winners: Leigh Royall (Spire Barristers) and Patrick Sarson (Gatehouse Chambers) 

Leigh RoyallPatrick Sarson

Pro Bono Chambers of the Year

Winner: 12 KBW


12 KBW

Lifetime Achievement in Pro Bono: the Sydney Elland Goldsmith Award

Winner: Anthony Speaight QC

Anthony Speaight

John Collins Pro Bono Excellence Award

Winner: Sarah Blackmore (Spire Barristers)

Sarah Blackmore

Pro Bono Innovation

Winner: Leducate