2024 Bar Pro Bono Awards: Winners

Headline Sponsor: LexisNexis

The 2024 Bar Pro Bono Awards took place at Middle Temple Hall on Wednesday 8th May 2024.

We received over 100 nominations in total this year, which is a testament to all the incredible work happening at the Bar. 

The prestigious awards were presented by the Lady Chief Justice of England and Wales, Lady Carr, with an introduction by Advocate Chairman Sharif A. Shivji KC and additional remarks from CEO of LexisNexis James Harper.  The judges of all the respective categories then presented the individual awards. 

Read about the full list of shortlisted nominees in the 2024 Bar Pro Bono Awards brochure here.

Award Winners

Young Pro Bono Barrister of the Year

Winner: Tinessa Kaur (4BB Chambers)

Special mentions: Joshua Pemberton (Brick Court Chambers)Susana Ferrín Pérez  (No5 Chambers)

91 Tinessa Kaur35135 Edited 3

Junior Pro Bono Barrister of the Year

Joint winners: Jake Rudman (Hatton Chambers) & Jennifer MacLeod (Brick Court Chambers)

Special mentions: Yasin Patel (Church Court Chambers) & Rob George (Harcourt Chambers)

Jake RudmanJenniferMacleod 5 from 2022

Pro Bono KC of the Year

Winner: Samantha Hillas KC (St John's Buildings)

Special mention: Laura Dubinsky KC (Doughty Street Chambers)

Samantha Hillas KC

International Pro Bono Barrister of the Year

Winner:  Haydee Dijkstal (33 Bedford Row)

Special mention: Ali Al-Karim (Brick Court Chambers)

Haydee Dijkstal

Pro Bono Chambers Professional of the Year

Winner: Mark Ronson (Kings Chambers)

Special Mention: Agnes Gitau (3VB)

Mark Ronson copy

Pro Bono Chambers of the Year

Winner: 4PB

Special mentions: 1GC Family Law & 3 Paper Buildings (3PB)



4PB Logo High Res 002

Lifetime Achievement in Pro Bono, the Sydney Elland Goldsmith Award:

Winner: Christopher Naish (Magdalen Chambers)

The Bar Council Conference high res 115

John Collins Pro Bono Excellence Award

Winner: Joseph Sinclair (Mountford Chambers)

Special Mention: Lucas Nacif (Farore Law)


Pro Bono and Social Responsibility Initiative of the Year

Winner: Dads House

Special mention: Schools Consent Project



 Dads House