We are delighted to announce our shortlist for the 2022 #BarProBonoAwards.

We had an overwhelming number of nominations this year, a total of 78 nominations across 10 categories, which is testament to all the incredible pro bono work going on at the Bar.

Showcasing dedicated members of the Bar, our shortlisted nominees have gone above and beyond in their pro bono work.

Congratulations to all our shortlisted nominees. We look forward to welcoming you to our awards ceremony on Wednesday 2nd November at which winners in most categories will be announced. The hybrid ceremony will take place at Middle Temple Hall with thanks to our headline sponsors LexisNexis.

Meet our shortlist...

Young Pro Bono Barrister of the Year (Sponsored by Place Campbell)

  • Abigail Scott – Ropewalk Chambers
  • Annahita Moradi-BalfOne Pump Court
  • Georgina Rea – Garden Court Chambers
  • Joshua Jackson – Cloisters
  • Liam Kelly – Deans Court Chambers
  • Olivia Kirkbride – Serjeants’ Inn
  • Paul Erdunast – Temple Garden
  • Ryan Ross – Farrar’s Building
  • Tinessa Kaur – Kaurs Legal UK

Junior Pro Bono Barrister of the Year (Sponsored by Westgate Wealth Management)

  • Abigail Bright Doughty Street Chambers
  • Catherine Meredith – Doughty Street Chambers
  • Emma Daykin – One Pump Court
  • Jo Brown & Jo Porter – 4PB
  • Josef Cannon – Cornerstone Chambers
  • Lucy Limbrey – 4KBW
  • Marika Lemos – Devereux Chambers
  • Sarah Pinder – Goldsmith Chambers

Pro Bono KC of the Year (Sponsored by Hewetson & Co)

  • Alex Potts KC – Conyers
  • James McClelland KC – Brick Court Chambers
  • Mark Harries KC – Serjeants’ Inn
  • Sophie Cartwright KC – Deans Court Chambers

International Pro Bono Barrister of the Year (Sponsored by DX Delivery)

  • Annahita Moradi-Balf, Nigel Edwards KC & Haydee Dijkstal – One Pump Court & 33 Bedford Row
  • Gráinne Mellon – Garden Court Chambers
  • Tatyana Eatwell – Doughty Street Chambers

 Pro Bono Chambers' Professional of the Year (Sponsored by the LPMA)

  • Jack Brown – Outer Temple
  • Jamie Tucker – 12KBW
  • Mark Ronson – Kings Chambers
  • Tom O’Connor – Serjeants’ Inn

Pro Bono Chambers of the Year (Sponsored by ABC Chambers Solutions)

  • Deans Court Chambers
  • Gatehouse Chambers
  • One Essex Court
  • Serjeants’ Inn

Winners of Pro Bono Initiative of the Year (In partnership with The Bar Council)

  • Ukraine Advice Project

John Collins Pro Bono Excellence Award (In partnership with the North-Eastern Circuit)

  • Victoria Butler-Cole KC - 39 Essex Chambers
  • Ramby de Mello - No5 Barristers’ Chambers
  • Simon Rowbotham - 7BR 
  • Cecily Crampin - Falcon Chambers
  • Joshua Griffin - Gatehouse Chambers
  • Julie Okine - Goldsmith Chambers

Social Responsibility Initiative of the Year

  • Spire Barristers
  • 9 St John Street Chambers
  • Brick Court Chambers
  • Bridging The Bar
  • Bringing [Dis]Ability to the Bar
  • Ukraine Resettling Scheme
  • Sikh Lawyers Association

Sustainability Initiative of the Year 
(In partnership with the Bar Council Sustainability Network

  • Doughty Street Chambers
  • Hemp & Hemp Wigs
  • Lawyers for Nature

From all of us at Advocate, thank you to our nominees for your continued support and hard work in delivering access to justice for vulnerable applicants. You truly are #ProBonoHeroes!

We will be announcing the shortlist for the 'Lifetime Achievement in Pro Bono, the Sydney Elland Goldsmith Award' at the awards ceremony on Wednesday 2nd November.

Winners of 'Young Pro Bono Barrister of the Year' and 'Lifetime Achievement in Pro Bono' will be presented with their awards at the Bar Council’s Annual Bar and Young Bar Conference, which will take place on Saturday 26 November at the Grand Connaught Rooms in London. 

Congratulations once again to all shortlisted nominees for their dedication to pro bono. 

We could not do it without you. #WeDoProBono